Is Playdough Gluten-Free? (+Gluten-Free PlayDough Recipe!)

Published On:

KidsCareIdeas's Promise To You: We strive to deliver the highest quality articles possible by following a strict Editorial process for every article we publish. We independently review and research every product we write about. However, some of our posts may contain affiliate links that earn us a commission. See our Disclosure.

Sharing is Caring!

We all know that playdough is a lot of fun, but is it safe for those with gluten sensitivities?

Let’s take a look at what’s in the playdough and whether or not it contains gluten.

You might be surprised to learn that playdough is not gluten-free. In fact, many brands of playdough contain wheat flour, which is a major source of gluten.

Is Playdough Gluten-Free

Let’s get started!

Is Playdough Gluten-Free?

No. Play Dough is not gluten-free. It is made of wheat flour, salt, and water. It has active gluten that acts as an allergen to anyone with gluten intolerance.

It’s best to check the Playdough ingredients before buying.

Kids often indulge in playing with Play Doughs, and it is difficult for them to resist the urge to play with them.

But, it is always advisable for parents to keep them out of the reach of any gluten-containing Playdough as it may be too detrimental to health.

[Source 1, Source 2]

What are the Ingredients in Commercial Play-Dough (Play-Doh)?

Hasbro is the largest manufacturer of Play-Doh right now. According to the brand, the commercial play dough ingredients are water, salt, and flour 2004.

Hasbro came up with another variant of the commercial play dough that was quite popular within the United States.

The reported ingredients of the particular variant were water, starch-based binders, salt, lubricant, humectant, surfactant, preservative, retrogradation inhibitor, fragrance, color, and a couple of other things.

There is also a secret ingredient of the Play-Doh that makes it incredibly easy and fun to play with, and the ingredient is Glycerin.

Does Play Dough have Flour?

Yes. The primary components of Play Dough are flour, water, and salt. An active component of these three ingredients forms Play Dough.

Hasbro, currently the largest manufacturer of commercial Play-Dough, has wheat flour as an active component, as admitted by the company.

Some companies manufacture Play-Doh with boric acid and mineral oil.

Nevertheless, Wheat flour is one of the most active ingredients. Moisturizers and sweeteners are also used to make it even more attractive. 

Can Kids with Wheat Allergy Play with Play-Doh?

No. Kids with wheat allergy cannot play with the Play-Doh. Play-Doh contains wheat flour as one of the major ingredients and is loaded with gluten.

So, if your kids have a gluten allergy, it is definitely better to avoid Play-Doh.

You might be thinking that it is only gluten consumption that causes the problem, but when your kid plays with Play-Doh, their hands come in contact with gluten which they can put in their mouth and cause disaster.

If your child is too obsessed with Play-Doh, the best way is to prepare them at home or look for a gluten-free variant. 

Gluten-free Playdough Recipe at Home

If your toddler is nagging throughout the day to play with the best play-dough, but you cannot simply give it to them because you know it is harmful, the next best way is to hand them over some homemade gluten-free Play-Dough made at home.


You Need the following ingredients to make this gluten-free play-dough at home:

  • Rice Flour
  • Tapioca Starch
  • Table Salt
  • Tarter Cream
  • Coconut Oil
  • Natural chemical-free food dyes
  • Water


If you want to prepare a grain-free version of the same thing, it is best that you choose baking soda instead of rice flour.

Here are the steps you can follow to make Gluten-Free Playdough at home:

  • After you have sorted the ingredients, mix them in a deep bowl without the color.
  • Turn the stove on and cook the mixture for 3 minutes. You will soon observe all the ingredients coming together.
  • Now it is time to let it rest and cool for some time.
  • Now add the dyes to bring the color of your choice, and voila, your gluten-free play dough is ready for the kids. 

Gluten-Free Playdough Brands

If preparing a gluten-free play dough at home seems too complex, you can choose a play dough brand that offers gluten-free supplies for your kids.

Some of the most popular gluten-free play dough brands are: 

1. Aroma Dough

It is a specially formulated modeling dough developed in the U.S but is now popular across the globe. It is highly useful playdough for kids.

The best aspect is that it is completely gluten-free and rendered hypoallergenic for kids to play with. 

2. Crayola Model Magic

It is a modeling clay alternative. Soft and easy-to-use modeling clay helps your kids create DIY keepable art and craft projects.

It is a non-toxic modeling material that is gluten-free and dries within 24 hours of preparing art with it. Kids love manipulating this super-satisfying material. 

3. Chuckle and Roar Whoa Dough

It is one of the best-known light and stretchy doughs with an elastic texture that is soft, smooth, and mess-free.

Kids will love playing with it as it comes in 8 exciting colors. It is made of natural ingredients devoid of wheat flour, making it totally gluten-free. 

4. Mad Mattr

It is a mix of polymer and dough. This one is really smooth and super clean. Your kids will love this one, and you too, because it won’t stain your furniture, floors, and even your kid’s hands.

Get a pack for your naughty kids who can spend tie creating their favorite art with it. 

Though Hasbro is the largest play dough manufacturer, they don’t have a gluten-free version for the customers. The best way is to prepare homemade gluten-free Play Dough for your kids.


Let’s conclude the post on whether Playdough is gluten-free!

So, as we checked most of the Playdough available in the market has gluten in them. So, check the ingredients if there is any mention of flour.

Also, you may check a portion in the pack where they mention allergen information.

You may now also be able to make this at home with the recipe I mentioned above and that would be gluten-free.

I hope you enjoyed reading the post.

Sharing is Caring!


Analyzed By Basana Saha

Basana Saha has expertise working for more than 25 years as a beautician. She has expertise in choosing the right accessories and gears for your baby. Being a mom she knows the problems new moms face. She would like to help with Parenting to new moms with her expertise in raising a child. Learn More About Basana Saha.